Tags

, , ,

Wow!  I don’t know how many of you are watching the NBA Finals, but last night the Miami Heat really played a great game.  They are making this an exciting series.  All tied 1-1 and heading back to South Beach to see what happens next.  Go Heat! (Ok… I know I’m a little weird because I am one of those women who follows sports, know a great majority of stats and watch Sportscenter with the best of them… what can I say… I’m a product of my upbringing.  But I’m girly too!)

Enough of that.  On to the food… In true Ursula fashion, I was trying to think of something interesting (with a little heat, of course) to cook.  I was leaning toward a stir fry, but didn’t want the normal fare of broccoli and cauliflower or bell peppers in it.  So, I did a sweep of the fridge and I struck gold!  Squash, zucchini, asparagus and mushrooms.  Ok.  I know you are saying, WHAT?  That doesn’t go in stir fry!  You will soon discover that I am by no means a traditional cook.  I like to push the envelope and see what I can come up with.  This is what makes cooking exciting.  You get to be creative and you get some pretty good food out of the deal.  I paired those wonderful veggies with garlic, ginger, onion and the star of the dish, flank steak.  The sauce is what brings on the heat… Sriracha, a little oyster sauce, equal parts of soy sauce and low sodium soy sauce.  Whewww!  When I say this was good.  Oh my!!!

I’m waiting for my family to say enough with the spicy food already!  But, I’m moving forward until they start yelling.  Seriously though, it is just so good I can’t help myself.  The best part of this dish is that it is totally healthy.  It’s got good vegetables, protein and you can either eat it alone or with some jasmine rice.  Since I need all of the calories I can get, I opted for the rice.

In my usual tradition, I will warn you, this dish is not for the faint of heat.  (yes, HEAT!)  Sriracha is no joke!  Got a funny story I will share with you really quickly.  The first time my husband had Sriracha, we were at a chinese restaurant in Houston.  He picked up the bottle and proceeded to squirt the sauce all over his food, without having had it before.  I looked at him and started laughing because I already knew what he was in for.  He took that first bite and the look on his face was priceless.  He immediately picked up his glass of water and stuck his tongue in it.  Then he started gulping down the water.  Hilarious!!!!  Now, he can handle a lot of heat, but even he is no match for Sriracha!  So, if you decide to try this one, ease yourself into it.  Just use a little Sriracha and add more if you feel like you can handle a little more heat.

I hope that you enjoy this creation from my overactive mind, and gather the courage to venture out and try some new ideas.  Remember, healthy cooking does not have to be difficult or boring!  Bring on the HEAT!

SPICY TERIYAKI BEEF STIR FRY

Ingredients

1 teaspoon of olive oil
8 stalks of asparagus, cut into 1 inch pieces
½ of a yellow squash, sliced and quartered
½ of a zucchini, sliced and quartered
1 cup of cremini mushrooms
1 small onion, chopped
4 cloves of garlic, minced
3 tablespoons of ginger, minced
1 tablespoon of oyster sauce
¼ cup of low sodium soy sauce
3 tablespoons of Sriracha
½ pound of flank steak, thinly sliced

Directions

In a small bowl, add the oyster sauce, soy sauce and Sriracha. Mix well and set aside.

Heat olive oil in wok over medium high heat. Add asparagus, squash and zucchini to the pan. Cook 5-7 minutes, stirring often, until the vegetables are tender crisp.

Add the mushrooms, onion, garlic and ginger and cook 2-3 minutes until the onion is transluscent, the mushrooms cook through and the garlic is fragrant.

Add the flank steak to the pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes stirring to ensure that the meat browns. The meat cooks very quickly because it is thinly sliced.

Add the sauce to the pan and stir to coat. Let the sauce cook until it begins to bubble and thicken. Taste the sauce for spice. If it is not hot enough, add more Sriracha. Remove from the heat and serve with jasmine rice.

