Tags

, , ,

Heat and lots of it, that’s what my husband got for Father’s Day. The Miami Heat one yet another NBA Finals game (GO HEAT!!!!) and when I asked hubby what he wanted for his Father’s Day Dinner, he said “Surprise me.” Now, why did he say that? Doesn’t that man know that I’m crazy AND I’m going through a heat phase?

On the menu was, a cajun spiced steak, roasted potatoes, and balsamic mushroom green beans. I will be sure to share the recipe for the green beans later, as they were quite yummy, but for now, I’m getting back to the heat. I had every intention of making this steak one of the most flavorfully (is that a word?) spicy dishes that I could. I marinated the steak in a spicy rub for an hour and prepared the steak.

The end result was a very nice looking steak that tasted great, but sadly… not enough heat. Boo! Well, the dinner was great, and for those of you who just want a great tasting steak that can be made in a few minutes in the oven, this recipe is for you. I will be working on this recipe because I am very competitive. I know there has got to be a way to spice up a good steak! Stay tuned, I’ll be back (in my Terminator voice). Enjoy!

CAJUN SPICED STEAK

Ingredients

2 Steaks, any cut (approx. ½ pound each)
¼ cup water
2 tablespoons Tony Chachere’s Cajun Seasoning
1 tablespoon Cayenne Pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1 teaspoon white vinegar

Directions

Combine water, Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, olive oil, salt pepper and vinegar in a Ziploc bag. Add the steaks and coat them with the mixture. Seal and place in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes or up to 2 hours. Remove steaks from the refrigerator and allow them to come to room temperature.
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. When steaks reach room temperature add 1 teaspoon of olive oil to a cast iron skillet and heat on the stove over high heat. When the oil ripples add the steaks. Sear one side for approximately 2-3 minutes when there is a golden brown crust. Flip the steaks and place the pan in the oven for 5 minutes or until desired doneness.
Remove from the oven, place steaks on a plate and let them rest for 5 minutes before serving.

