Tags

, , ,

Today is officially the first day of summer, which theoretically should mean…. Heat. Right?  Mmmm, I’m in Ohio, so…. not so much.  I’m still waiting for the real summer heat to get here and wondering if it ever will.  (That’s what I get for living in Texas for 20+ years.  Now, that there is some HEAT!  The kind where you walk out your front door and immediately start sweating.  It’s heat at it’s finest.  Psst… can I tell you a secret?  I really don’t miss that particular kind of heat.  Lol!

Onward to another of my heat passions.  Tonight is another game in the NBA Finals.  Will the Heat take out OKC and win the championship tonight?  We shall see!  Wouldn’t that be the icing on the Heat cake?  Lebron would finally get a ring… and the Heat would reign supreme (which it already does in my world), but hey, the rest of the world could join me with the Heat love!  Wouldn’t that be cool?  Enough of that.  I know the Lebron hater’s are giving me a serious eye roll right about now.  Hee Hee Hee!  (That’s my wicked with of the west (or is it east?) Anyway, whatever direction,  its my wicked witch laugh from the Wizard of Oz).  Yeah… I know, I’ve got issues…

Soooo…. anywhooo… In the spirit of all things spicy and heat filled, I decided to try my hand at making a spicy fish dish.  I wanted something with some kick, but I didn’t want to lose the flavor of the fish.  What I came up with allowed the fish to shine through but still gave me the heat I was craving.  I tell you I just don’t know what is wrong with me.  I can’t get away from these spicy dishes.  This week alone I’ve had something spicy 3 days out of 4.  It’s getting crazy.  (I mean, so what if I eat 100 calorie popcorn with tabasco sauce all over it as a snack!  I loves me some HEAT!)  It’s not rational… shoot, it might be a sickness… food for thought… But I must admit that I love it.  My creative side is definitely being challenged.  I promise that at some point I will share some of my other dishes that aren’t spicy with you… it’s just that right now… I’m all about the heat!  This too shall pass… hang in there with me… it’s almost over!

Tilapia is a very mild fish but it’s extremely easy to cook with and shrimp is done in a snap.  I am sure that you will love this as much as I did.  Oh… did I mention that my family smashed this?  It was quiet at the table which is a sure sign that the food is good.  I actually had to push to get feedback because they were so busy stuffing their faces.  There’s no better feeling than seeing people eat something you created and knowing that they enjoyed it.  Let me know how you like this one.

SPICY TILAPIA & SHRIMP WITH PARMESAN CREAM SAUCE

Ingredients

6 tilapia fillets
½ pound of large peeled and deveined shrimp
¼ cup melted unsalted butter
1 tablespoon Tony Chachere’s cajun seasoning
2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1 teaspoon white pepper
½ teaspoon salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place baking sheet in the oven.
Combine the cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, black pepper, white pepper and salt in a bowl and set aside.
Rinse tilapia fillets and shrimp and pat dry. Season both sides of the fillets and shrimp with the spices. Remove the pan from the oven and pour half of the melted butter on the bottom of the baking sheet. It will be sizzling. Add the fish to the pan and put into the over for 5-7 minutes or until the fish is almost ready to flake. While the fish is cooking prepare your parmesan cream sauce (recipe below).
Take the pan out and add the shrimp. Put the back into the oven for 3-5 minutes and remove the pan. Drizzle with the remaining butter, top with the cream sauce and serve.

Parmesan Cream Sauce

¼ cup of white wine
3 tablespoons half and half
½ cup grated parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon of butter

In a sauté pan, heat white wine over medium high heat until it begins to bubble (you want big bubbles). Stir in the half and half. Add the parmesan cheese and lower the heat to medium. Reduce the sauce until it begins to thicken. Add the butter and when it is melted drizzle on top of the fish and shrimp before serving.

