Tags

, , ,

What an amazing week last week!  Congratulations to The Miami Heat for their victory in the NBA Finals!  Well deserved!  (I know, I know… I’m late getting this posted, but hey… I was celebrating, what do you expect?)  It was wonderful to see The Heat celebrate.  The jubilation on their faces when they won was priceless!  If only we could all experience that feeling of euphoria at least once in our lifetime!  It would make everything we go through daily worth it, right?  Lebron – you earned it!

GO HEAT!

P.S. Have I mentioned that I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Dwyane Wade?  Oh, I know I didn’t tell you that I have the biggest crush on Shane Battier!  If I’m ever in the same room with that man?  Watch out!!!!  It could get real ugly… I’m just sayin’… Anyway, this win was great for me on a lot of different levels.

So… on to the reason for this blog.  The final rendering of my Heat phase.  Yes… I admit it… I’m finally finished.  The Heat has been quenched, but I’m sure that it will rear it’s head again at some point.  It’s like an addiction, you know?  As I went back through my posts, I realized that I’ve only written about main dishes with heat.  Well… I thought… you have to have something to go with the main dish, right?  And suppose you don’t want to have a spicy main dish, but you still crave just a touch of heat.  I’ve got just the thing for that.  A very easy side dish that has heat and a bit of “twang” too.  Hmmm maybe I’ll look into my recipe archives and see what else I have that has “twang.”  I feel another phase coming on.  Former Texas Twang, or Food with Twang… what do you think?  Is “twang” even a word?  I digress… you know how I get when I let my mind wander.  Back to the Heat recipe… Oh, wait… have you seen Heat Seekers on the Food Network?  Now those guys have me beat… They really love heat!  Sorry… I did it again didn’t I?  Where was I?  Oh yes… the recipe… this one can be paired with beef, chicken or fish and will compliment any of them nicely, with just a little punch.  The heat in this dish is provided by crushed red peppers.  Now, don’t be mislead, those little bad boys are dangerous too.  (Not quite as dangerous as the Sriracha, but close).  So, if you can’t handle a lot of heat, please back up off the crushed red peppers.  Me… I add extra, cuz I loves me some heat!

Here it is… my final (for now) HEATED dish.  Enjoy and let me know what you think!

SPICY ROASTED POTATOES

Ingredients

2 1/2 to 3 pounds of red potatoes, diced
¼ cup olive oil
5 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
¼ cup red wine vinegar
½ cup chopped fresh parsley leaves – you can substitute dried parsley
½ cup chopped cilantro leaves

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put a sheet tray in oven to get hot.
Toss the potatoes in a large bowl with the olive oil, garlic, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper and cumin. Spread potatoes out evenly on the hot sheet tray. Roast until tender and nicely browned, about 35 minutes. Remove the potatoes from the oven and put them back into the bowl. Add the vinegar, parsley, cilantro. Add salt and pepper to taste. Toss well to combine ingredients evenly and serve.

